Mayo Free Lemon Tuna

Lemon Tuna with SpicesFinally a recipe for tuna that’s Mayo Free! Growing up I ate lots of tuna sandwiches. The tuna was always slopped in mayo and the bread was always soggy. Needless to say, I hated those sandwiches. So I thought, I hated tuna. Until a friend of ours made us a different style of tuna. He used delicious tuna from Ecuador over hot rice, lots of lemon, limes, fresh tomatoes and cilantro. It was a delicious mayonnaise alternative recipe which quickly rekindled my love for tuna. I realized you don’t always have to eat it on bread or even with mayonnaise. I started experimenting with my own Mayo Free Tuna Recipes and voilà this recipe was made!

Pole Caught TunaAlthough I don’t have access to Tuna from Ecuador, I make sure that when I purchase canned tuna it is from a Pole Caught Source. I also make sure it’s in a BPA free can. The brands I use are: Sustainable Seas (Shown in left picture) which I’ve found at Kroger and also Pole and Line which I buy at Wholefoods.

But if you still can’t break away from the classic tuna and mayo, just take a look at this label from one of the popular mayonnaise brands. You might change your mind about mayo altogether.

If you’re not sure why you should be concerned with those ingredients, I wrote a post explaining all the bad ingredients in mayo. Needless to say, I haven’t made tuna with mayo since. I’ve also been tweaking the recipe and I think this one is delicious!

Feel free to experiment with your own herbs and spices and get your tuna tasting the way you like it! It’s a great post-workout snack minus the nasty dairy,omega 6 fats, preservatives or sugar. Let me know what you think!

Mayo Free Lemon Tuna
 no-mayo-tuna
Prep time
5 mins
Cook time
3 mins
Total time
8 mins
Author: Lauren Giraldo
Ingredients
  • 1 Can BPA free pole caught Tuna
  • 1 Lemon
  • Diced Celery
  • Diced Green Pepper
  • Diced Onion
  • Fresh Oregano
  • ⅛ tsp Turmeric
  • ⅛ tsp Cayenne Pepper
  • ⅛ tsp Pepper
  • Salt( If tuna is unsalted)
  • Diced Raw Garlic (Optional)
Instructions
  1. Drain tuna can
  2. Place tuna in bowl spread and shred tuna with fork
  3. Add onions, green pepper and celery
  4. Sprinkle oregano (shred leafs with fingers)
  5. Add spices
  6. Mix thoroughly
  7. Can be served with over hot rice (Add diced tomatoes and cilantro)
  8. Can be served with salad and avocado

 

The post Mayo Free Lemon Tuna appeared first on Best Natural Stuff.

Leave a comment